The Brook

The Brook
on Broadwaters

Meet Our Governors

The role of governors

School governors are a team of people who work closely with the head teacher to make key decisions vital to the successful running of the school. The governors make decisions that directly affect the education and well-being of children. They play an important role in improving standards throughout the school and agree the school's budget. They also help as part of the recruitment process for a Headteacher.

The role of the governing board is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend)

The headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school, as well as the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing body.

As Governors we:

  • Fulfil our statutory duties to ensure that the school is a safe, healthy and inclusive place
  • Support and challenge the school leadership team, acting as a 'critical friend'
  • Each contribute our experience and expertise to drive school improvement forward
  • Meet in committees and once a term as a full Governing Body

Broadwaters Governing Board

Broadwaters comprises of The Willow Primary School, Broadwaters Children's Centre and The Brook Special primary school. The Governing Board has three Committees and the members below all sit on at least one of these with the Headteachers present on all of them:

  • Finance, Premises and Personnel
  • Teaching Learning and Standards
  • Community Services

Co-opted Governors (4)

Marva Rollins OBE

Marilyn Francis 

Nofer Fari - Chair

Peter Eadie-Catling

Local Authority Governor (1)

Andrew Willett

Headteacher Governors (2)

Maureen Duncan

Dawn Ferdinand

Staff Governors (2)

Jessica Burke (Brook)  

Lorna Wright (Willow)

Parent Governors (2)

Wayne Davis  (Brook)

Kanupriya JhunJhunwala (Willow) - Vice Chair

Associate Members (5) (no voting rights)

Sarah Harris (Willow)

Sukina Campos (Brook)

Alison Walmsley (Children's Centre)

Cherri Fox (Children's Centre)

Duwan Farquharson (Broadwaters)


Governors Terms of Office and Business Interest 2022-23